Top Section 2 cross country performances from September 22

There were several noteworthy performances around Section 2 cross country from Sept. 22:

The Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake boys cross country team took first place in the Varsity Large division at the Baldwinsville Invitational outside Syracuse on Saturday, Sept. 22. Tyler Berg, Evan Brennan and Aidan Gillooley swept the top three places for the Spartans, who won the division with 26 points.

Niskayuna’s girls team won the Bowdoin XC Classic at Bowdoin State Park, home of the New York State Federation meet. The Silver Warriors finished first in the Varsity I division with 67 points. Liyat Kebbede (sixth place) and Erin Boler (ninth place) led the way for Niskayuna.

Shenendehowa was the top New York State Public High School Athletic Association team in the Boys Varsity I division at Bowdoin. The Plainsmen finished fourth overall with 152 points behind La Salle Academy of New York City, Haddonfield Memorial from New Jersey and Staples High School from Connecticut.

Mohonasen’s girls team took second place in the Varsity B division at the Bob Pratt Invitational, which took place on this year’s NYSPHSAA state meet course at Sunken Meadow State Park on Long Island. Kate Sherman (12th), Emma Sinisgalli (16th) and Christa Bailey (20th) all had top-20 performances for the Mighty Warriors, who finished with 97 points.

Closer to home, Scotia-Glenville took the Boys Varsity Division 1 team title at its own Tartan Invitational at Indian Meadows. Gabe Winters-Bona led the Tartans by winning the individual title in a time of 15:25.16, more than two seconds ahead of Schenectady’s Shazim Permaul.

In Boys Varsity Division 2, Voorheesville edged Duanesburg 50-54 for the team title. Voorheesville’s Evan Ensslin was the individual champion with a time of 15:04.69. Rensselaer’s Henry Goca was second with a time of 15:35.91.

On the girls’ side, Colonie runners took three of the top four places in the Varsity 1 division to win the team title with 18 points. Kathryn Tenney led the Garnet Raiders with a first-place time of 17:24.79. Hoosic Valley’s Carolyn Burnell placed second with a time of 17:47.23, followed by Colonie’s Sophia Bisognano and Lillian Moran, who finished third and fourth, respectively.

Duanesburg swept the top two places on its way to winning the Girls Varsity Division 2 team title with 18 points, 19 points ahead of runner-up Voorheesville. Elaine Atanasova guided the Eagles with a winning time of 17:35.29, followed by teammate Jen Skeeter with a time of 18:42.36.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s