Six Queensbury players selected as first team all-stars by the Foothills Council boys soccer coaches

Six Queensbury players – including league MVP Ray Jones – were selected as first-team all-stars by the Foothills Council boys soccer coaches.

Jones anchored a Queensbury defense that allowed a total of 10 goals during its run to the Class A state semifinals. Along the way, the Spartans posted a seven-game shutout streak against Foothills Council opponents and allowed league opponents a total of four goals during the regular season.

Four Schuylerville players and three South Glens Falls players made the first team, with the rest coming from Scotia-Glenville and Hudson Falls.

The Foothills Council boys soccer all-stars are as follows:

First team
Shane Grimes (Hudson Falls) – senior defender
Ray Jones (Queensbury) – senior defender, league MVP
Teddy Borgos (Queensbury) – junior forward
Peter Crawford (Queensbury) – junior forward
Aidan Jordi-Donnelly (Queensbury) – senior midfielder
Lucas McCane (Queensbury) – junior defender
Alex Roca (Queensbury) – junior midfielder
Jared Everleth (Schuylerville) – senior defender
Nick Budesheim (Schuylerville) – senior forward
Mike Lanfear (Schuylerville) – senior midfielder
Zach Saddlemire (Schuylerville) – junior midfielder
Jared O’Connor (Scotia-Glenville) – sophomore forward
Julian Aldi (Scotia-Glenville) – senior midfielder
Bobby Bruschini (South Glens Falls) – junior midfielder
Lanning Torebka (South Glens Falls) – junior midfielder
Sebastian Maynard (South Glens Falls) – senior goalkeeper

Second team
Ian Healy (Amsterdam) – junior goalkeeper
Dwight Rose (Amsterdam) – senior forward
Hunter Monks (Broadalbin-Perth) – junior midfielder
Jared Eipp (Broadalbin-Perth) – senior midfielder
Damian Bruce (Gloversville) – senior forward
Matt McCarthy (Gloversville) – junior midfielder
Ryan Issa (Gloversville) – senior midfielder
Alex Varney (Hudson Falls) – junior defender
Lorenzo Cicogna (Queensbury) – senior forward
Drew Crawford (Queensbury) – senior midfielder
Aidan Nichter (Scotia-Glenville) – sophomore midfielder
Xander Holden (South Glens Falls) – sophomore defender
Vinnie Santilli (South Glens Falls) – senior defender
Andrew King (South Glens Falls) – junior forward

Honorable mention
Amsterdam: Antonio Reyes, Randy Spraker and Kevin Vargas
Broadalbin-Perth: Quinten Boehme, Kyle Denman, Ian Dingman, Brady Goodemote, Blake Leonard and Cameron Polikowski
Glens Falls: Seth Davis, Coleman Leland, Nick West, Anthony Willett and Spencer Williams
Gloversville: Ryan Smith
Hudson Falls: Nick Heasley, Michael Hunt, Carter Lewis, Ryan Melucci and Dennis Sullivan
Johnstown: Matt Boyle, Charlie Brown, Charlie Gagliardo and Joey Matthews
Queensbury: Jerod Osika
Schuylerville: Christian Petralia and Reese Tavares
Scotia-Glenville: Micah Hughes, Jacob McKenzie, Nick Neilson and Keith Ogden
South Glens Falls: Colin Parker and Ben Stimpson

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s