Section 2 hockey preview: LaSalle Cadets

LaSalle logoTeam: LaSalle Institute

Head coach: Tim Flanigan

Last year’s record: 15-6-2

Playoff result: Lost to Bethlehem in Section 2 Division 1 final

Returning players: Jack O’Bryan (senior forward), Sebastian Geiger (senior defenseman), Taylor Nitz (senior forward), Matt Powers (senior defenseman), D.J. Pauley (junior defenseman), Reid Murray (sophomore defenseman), Leo Paul (sophomore goaltender), Spencer Carpenter (junior forward), Owen Scannell (sophomore forward), Mike Baker (junior forward)

Graduated: Ryan Murray (forward), Tom Ryan (forward), Christian Rudd (forward), Casey Boone (goaltender), Sam Brendese (forward), Erik Zimmerman (forward), Matthew Luke (defenseman), Mike Kenneally (forward)

Newcomers: Nic Pauley (sophomore forward), Brendan White (sophomore forward), Kyle McGee (sophomore goaltender), Hunter Caola (sophomore forward), Jagger Sessa (sophomore forward), Forrest Ward (freshman forward), Jack Brown (sophomore defenseman), Caleb Ells (freshman goaltender)

Outlook for the season: After winning the 2016-17 Section 2 title and coming close to repeating last year, LaSalle has to find some goal scorers following the graduation of Ryan Murray and Tom Ryan.

“However, the team is looking for its strong nucleus of returning players and newcomers to build upon its success,” said Flanigan.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s