Section 2 wrestling: Saratoga Springs wins Mohonasen Invitational; Coxsackie-Athens places second at Ossining tourney

Saratoga Springs had 10 wrestlers place in the top four of their weight classes to win the Mohonasen Invitational Saturday, Dec. 1, in Rotterdam.

Three Blue Streaks won in the championship finals, and three more earned victories in the consolation bracket finals to help Saratoga finish with 218.5 points. Maple Hill was second with 169 points, and Mohonasen placed third with 152.5 points.

Kyle Griskowitz (99 pounds), Brant Robinson (195) and Doug Cooper (215) won their weight classes for Saratoga. Griskowitz defeated Fonda-Johnstown’s Dylan Cotter 8-2 in the championship finals, while Robinson earned a technical fall over Colonie’s Colby Mattice. Cooper pinned Lansingburgh’s Y’lonte Jones Richards 17 seconds into the second round of their finals match.
Caleb (113 pounds) and Trent Svingala (132) each won individual titles for Maple Hill, as did Reese Steele (152). Jake Dequire (138) and Camrin Russell (285) had first-place finishes for Mohonasen, while Logan Stark (170) and Liam Mooney (185) won their weight classes for Colonie. Cody Haig (106) and Jared Bentz (126) took home titles for Canajoharie-Fort Plain.

Team scores
Saratoga Springs 218.5, Maple Hill 169, Mohonasen 152.5, Colonie 142, Fonda-Johnstown 136, Canajoharie-Fort Plain 96.5, Mechanicville 68.5, Albany 60, Duanesburg 58.5, Albany Academy 52, Lansingburgh 51.5, Schuylerville 45, Schenectady 30

Championship finals
106 – Cody Haig (C-FP) 10-1 majority decision over Antonio Encarnacion (SS)
113 – Caleb Svingala (MH) pinned Griffin Biviano (SS) 4:02
120 – Justin Kearns (F-J) 5-3 over Paulie Diegel (Sch’dy)
126 – Jared Bentz (C-FP) 16-3 majority decision over Sam Pisculli (Mech)
132 – Trent Svingala (MH) pinned Connor Goedel (Col) 1:52
138 – Jake Dequire (Mohon) pinned Daniel Motta (Mech) 4:45
145 – Brendan Finch (Lans) 3-2 over Chris Estep (F-J)
152 – Reese Steele (MH) pinned Nate Schrom (F-J) 5:57
160 – Drew Bogdan (AA) pinned Hunter Pomykaj (MH) 4:44
170 – Logan Stark (Col) 11-6 over Joe Boni (Duan)
182 – Liam Mooney (Col) 11-3 majority decision over Devin Crowe (SS)
195 – Brant Robinson (SS) technical fall over Colby Mattice (Col)
220 – Doug Cooper (SS) pinned Y’lonte Jones Richards (Lans) 2:17
285 – Camrin Russell (Mohon) pinned Gavin Russell (Mohon) :55
99 – Kyle Griskowitz (SS) 8-2 over Dylan Cotter (F-J)

Elsewhere, Coxsackie-Athens placed second at the Mike Nardone Memorial Wrestling Tournament in Ossining. The Indians won all of their pool play matches to advance to the finals, where they fell to Fox Lane’s A team 42-32.

Coxsackie-Athens defeated John Jay-East Fishkill 50-33 to open the tournament. The Indians then won 57-22 over Ossining, 60-15 over Fox Lane’s B team and 48-36 over Brewster to win their half of the bracket.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s