Three Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake boys cross country runners named first team All-State by sportswriters association

Cross Country Sectionals-28Three Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake boys cross country team members were named Class B first team All-State runners by the New York State Sportswriters Association Tuesday, Dec. 18.

Seniors Tyler Berg, Aidan Gillooley and Evan Brennan joined Runner of the Year Parker Stokes (Maine-Endwell), Ryan Guerci (Nanuet), Sam Lawler (Pittsford Mendon) and Jack Rosencrans (North Shore) in receiving first team honors. Senior Nick Hunziker was named to the second team, and junior Kevin Board received fourth team honors. Junior David Metacarpa was an honorable mention.
Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake won the Section 2 and New York State Public High School Athletic Association Class B titles this fall. The Spartans – running as Deluge XC – then placed second at the Nike Team Nationals New York Regional, which qualified them for the national meet in Portland, Ore., where they finished 14th out of 22 schools.

Saratoga Springs senior Shea Weilbaker was named a first team All-State runner in Class A after winning the Section 2 and NYSPHSAA championships. Weilbaker was second at the NTN New York Regional and 25th at the Nike Team Nationals.

The list of Section 2 runners on the NYSSWA All-State team is as follows:

Class A
First team – Shea Weilbaker (Saratoga Springs)
Third team – Marty Dolan (Niskayuna)
Fourth team – Matt Cavaliere (Bethlehem), Ezra Ruggles (Saratoga Springs)
Fifth team – Alex Hislop (Shenendehowa), Nicholas Soldevere (Guilderland)
Honorable mention – Ben Guerin (Ballston Spa), Nick Logan (Queensbury)

Class B
First team – Tyler Berg (Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake), Aidan Gillooley (Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake), Evan Brennan (Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake)
Second team – Nick Hunziker (Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake)
Third team – Antonio Beltran (Schalmont)
Fourth team – Kevin Board (Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake), Gabriel Winters-Bona (Scotia-Glenville)
Honorable mention – David Metacarpa (Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake), Francisco Beltran (Schalmont)

Class C
Third team – Evan Ensslin (Voorheesville)
Fourth team – Henry Goca (Rensselaer/Doane Stuart)
Honorable mention – Peyton Howard (Greenwich)

Class D
Fourth team – Noah Albanese (Maple Hill)

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s