Joseph Girard III named Class B football Co-Player of the Year in New York state

Glens Falls quarterback Joseph Girard III was named the Class B Co-Player of the Year for the second year in a row when the New York State Sportswriters Association revealed its small school all-state football teams Tuesday, Jan. 8.

Girard threw for 3,084 yards and 36 touchdowns against six interceptions to lead the Indians to their second state Class B title in three years. He also carried the ball 107 times for 395 yards and 13 touchdowns, and he had three touchdowns on defense and special teams.

Girard split Player of the Year honors with Batavia running back Ray Leach, who set Section 5 records for rushing yards, touchdowns and points scored in leading the Blue Devils to the state final against Glens Falls.

Glens Falls kicker Sam Hogan and Hudson linebacker Spencer Goldstein were first team all-state selections in Class B. Hogan converted 57 extra point kicks and added a pair of field goals, while Goldstein was one of the top defenders for a Hudson team that finished second in the Reinfurt Division.

[smartslider3 slider=3]

The full list of Section 2 all-state football players in classes B, C and D are as follows:

Class B
QB Joseph Girard III (Glens Falls) – Co-Player of the Year
PK Sam Hogan (Glens Falls) – first team offense
LB Spencer Goldstein (Hudson) – first team defense
WR Haydon Broockmann (Ichabod Crane) – second team offense
LB Kyle Vachon (Glens Falls) – second team defense
DB Donovan Pacatte  (Cobleskill-Richmondville) – second team defense
DB Stratton Sherman (Schuylerville) – second team defense
LB Darnell Green (Schalmont) – third team defense
DL Thompson Collins (Glens Falls) – fourth team defense
LB Nick Danahy (Glens Falls) – fourth team defense
LB David Barclay (Glens Falls) – fourth team defense
RB Hunter Edwards (Cobleskill-Richmondville) – fifth team offense
WR Trent Girard (Glens Falls) – fifth team offense
AP Aalijah Simpson (Glens Falls) – fifth team offense

Honorable mention: Caleb Condon (QB – Hudson Falls), Shane O’Dell (QB – Schalmont), Josh Wallace (RB – Hudson), Dante Calderone (WR – Broadalbin-Perth), Connor Hermanson (WR – Hudson Falls), Terrelle Bonner-Welch (lineman – Glens Falls), Spencer Lindstead (lineman – Cobleskill-Richmondville), Pat Nichols (lineman – Cobleskill-Richmondville), Ben Reid (lineman – Hudson Falls), Jared Thivierge (lineman – Schuylerville), Brodryk Benton (LB – Broadalbin-Perth), Connor Girard (LB – Glens Falls), Paul Harshbarger (DB – Schuylerville), Justin Carte (all-purpose – Schuylerville)

Class C 
RB Tommy English (Cambridge/Salem) – first team offense
WR Nacier Hundley (Holy Trinity) – first team offense
OL Brody Peacock (Stillwater) – first team offense
PK Wil Lawson (Holy Trinity) – first team offense
DL Nate Genevick (Cambridge/Salem) – first team defense
DL Brian McNeil (Stillwater) – first team defense
DB Nelon Priest (Holy Trinity) – first team defense
QB Joe Tortello (Holy Trinity) – second team offense
DL Sean King (Chatham) – second team defense
DB James Galarneau (Stillwater) – second team defense
RB Triston Schermerhorn (Chatham) – third team offense
DB Ja-Del Whitfield (Holy Trinity) – third team defense

Honorable mention: Sam Richard (QB – Hoosick Falls), Kaleb Taylor (QB – Chatham), Tyler Linendoll (RB – Cambridge/Salem), Jake Palmer (RB – Voorheesville), Mason Seymour (RB – Stillwater), Jeffrey Vincent (RB – Hoosick Falls), Noah Foster (WR – Holy Trinity), Nate Miller (lineman – Hoosick Falls), Sterling Spoon (lineman – Watervliet), Jordan Dean (LB – Cambridge/Salem), Jimmy Kelleher (LB – Lake George/Hadley-Luzerne), Ian Owens (LB – Voorheesville)

Class D
DB Evan MacDuff (Warrensburg) – first team defense
RB Jesse Griffin (Warrensburg) – second team offense
LB Brendan Covey (Whitehall) – second team defense
LB Matt Fusco (Hoosic Valley) – second team defense
LB Jake Moore (Whitehall) – second team defense

Honorable mention: William Scofield (RB – Hoosic Valley), Brandon Bailey (lineman – Warrensburg), Ryan Etu (lineman – Fort Edward), Hunter Mosher (lineman – Warrensburg), Dominic Smith (lineman – Hoosic Valley), Isaac Carlo (PK – Hoosic Valley)

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s