Brother vs. brother championship match highlights Section 2 Wrestling Championships

There was an unusual sight at this year’s Section 2 Wrestling Championships Saturday, Feb. 9, at the Cool Insuring Arena in Glens Falls.

Twin brothers Dylan and Ryan Sleezer of Queensbury met in the finals of the Division 1 (large school) 113-pound bracket. Ryan had defeated Dylan at two other tournaments, including the Section 2 Class B championships one week earlier, but Dylan edged Ryan 6-5 Saturday to win the title and earn an automatic berth to the state wrestling championships Feb. 22 and 23 in Albany.

Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake, Niskayuna, Shenendehowa and Averill Park each had a pair of wrestlers win titles in Division 1. The closest championship match was at 138 pounds, as Niskayuna’s Willie Thacker edged LaSalle’s Nick Pino on criteria after wrestling to a 12-12 tie.

[smartslider3 slider=3]

In Division 2 (small schools), Maple Hill’s Svingala brothers each won a Sectional title. Caleb Svingala pinned Hudson Falls’ Chris Petteys in 1:08 to claim the 106-pound division championship, while Trent Svingala recorded a 20-5 technical fall over Hoosick Falls’ Matthew LaPorte for the 132-pound weight class title.

Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk, Duanesburg and Cobleskill-Richmondville are also sending two champions to states. The other place finishers in Division 1 and Division 2 await at-large bids to the state tournament.

Championship results
Division 1
99 – Jashon Holmes (Shaker) maj dec Nick Palso (Ballston Spa) 10-2
106 – Stevo Poulin (Shenendehowa) tech fall Owen Hicks (Fonda-Fultonville) 17-2
113 – Dylan Sleezer (Queensbury) dec Ryan Sleezer (Queensbury) 6-5
120 – John DeConno (Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake) dec Aiden Scott (Columbia) 3-2
126 – Vincent Santilli (South Glens Falls) dec Ben Catrambone (Niskayuna) 4-2
132 – Jacob Deguire (Mohonasen) maj dec Dan Brady (Queensbury) 13-2
138 – Willie Thacker (Niskayuna) dec Nick Pino (LaSalle) 12-12 SV-3
145 – Brock Delsignore (Shenendehowa) dec Michael Altomer (Columbia) 7-4
152 – Sean Malenfant (Averill Park) dec Jakob Edwards (Columbia) 5-4
160 – Peter Meshkov (Niskayuna) dec Colden Dorfman (Shenendehowa) 7-0
170 – Jakai Townsend (Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake) dec Austin Grant (Guilderland) 8-5
182 – Liam Mooney (Colonie) maj dec Vincent Daviero (Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake) 9-0
195 – Brant Robinson (Saratoga Springs) dec Ryan Stein (Shaker) 5-2 TB-1
220 – Nik Koch (Averill Park) maj dec Doug Cooper (Saratoga Springs) 13-0
285 – Jacob Stangle (Ballston Spa) pin Brian Garrity (Shaker) 2:17

Division 2
99 – Jair Gomez (Ichabod Crane) pin Kieran Cullen (Greenville) 5:36
106 – Caleb Svingala (Maple Hill) pin Chris Petteys (Hudson Falls) 1:08
113 – Joseph Scheeren (Galway) dec Gabe Fisher (Hoosick Falls) 1-0 UTB
120 – Kaden Gransbury (Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk) dec Riley Retell (Tamarac) 5-4
126 – Aiden Cullen (Greenville) pin Austin Lints (Schoharie) 4:58
132 – Trent Svingala (Maple Hill) tech fall Matthew LaPorte (Hoosick Falls) 20-5
138 – Alec Richards (Corinth) dec Greg Hotaling (Cobleskill-Richmondville) 8-2
145 – Marlon Laing (Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk) pin Hunter McKenna (Warrensburg) :27
152 – Zachary Lawrence (Duanesburg) pin Logan Duers (Hadley-Luzerne/Lake George) 3:06
160 – Charlie Grygas (Duanesburg) maj dec Owen Lyons (Watervliet) 12-2
170 – Ethan Cooper (Cobleskill-Richmondville) maj dec Richard Forbes (Catskill) 13-5
182 – Cody York (Hadley-Luzerne/Lake George) pin Hunter Edwards (Cobleskill-Richmondville) 1:25
195 – Devon Shader (Coxsackie-Athens) inj def Nolan McNeil (Warrensburg) 5:49
220 – Jeff Crooks (Cobleskill-Richmondville) dec Chris Wilson (Warrensburg) 6-1
285 – Craig Sawyer (Hoosick Falls) dec Christian Salvio (Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk) 6-0

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s