Bethlehem sweeps Section 2 hockey postseason awards

Capital District High School Hockey League regular season champion Bethlehem swept the top three awards when Section 2 announced its postseason all-stars Sunday, Feb. 16.

Forward Michael Bievenue won the scoring title and was named Section 2’s Player of the Year, while Michael Kurdziolek was chosen by Section 2 coaches as the Leading Goaltender. Bievenue scored 46 goals and finished with 68 points, while Kurdziolek posted a 12-2-1 record with a 2.20 goals against average and a league-leading .919 save percentage.

Kurdziolek, forward Justin Chenaille and defenseman John Thibodeau from Bethlehem were named to the All-Section 2 team, along with Albany Academy forward Anthony Sericolo, Christian Brothers Academy forward Hunter Pemrick and Queensbury defenseman Brayden Ordway.

Chenaille led the league in assists with 31 and was second to Bievenue in goals (24) and points (55), while Thibodeau topped the league in assists by a defenseman with 16. Sericolo tied Shenendehowa’s Brennan Alheim for fourth place in points with 36, while Pemrick posted 24 points for the Brothers. Ordway had the second-highest goal total for a defenseman this season with seven.

[smartslider3 slider=3]

The complete Section 2 hockey all-star list is as follows:

Player of the Year: Michael Bievenue (Bethlehem forward)

Leading Goaltender: Michael Kurdziolek (Bethlehem)

Leading Goal Scorer: Bievenue

All Section 2 Team
F – Justin Chenaille (Bethlehem)
F – Anthony Sericolo (Albany Academy)
F – Hunter Pemrick (CBA)
D – John Thibodeau (Bethlehem)
D – Brayden Ordway (Queensbury)
G – Michael Kurdziolek (Bethlehem)

First team
F – Brennan Alheim (Shenendehowa)
F – Jack O’Bryan (LaSalle)
F – Gary Blanchard (Saratoga Springs)
D – Ryan Warnick (Albany Academy)
D – Dylan Kowalsky (Bethlehem)
G – Tony Cotugno (Niskayuna/Schenectady/Albany)

Second team
F – Connor Carroll (Bethlehem)
F – Miles Grabb (Burnt Hills/Ballston Spa)
F – Tyler Sullivan (Shenendehowa)
D – Mike Desmarais (CBA)
D – Grant Rice (Burnt Hills/Ballston Spa)
G – Owen Smith (Queensbury)

Honorable mention
Adirondack Rivermen – Ben DiFiore (G), Will Comrie (F)

Albany Academy Cadets – Blake Van Epps (D), Connor Momrow (F), Danny Moshier (F),

Bethlehem Eagles – Ben LaVigne (F)

Burnt Hills/Ballston Spa – Kyle Grace (G), Oliver Mathison (F), Sean Speck (D)

Capital District Jets – Will Ashley (F)

CBA Brothers – Dale Hammond (D), Dylan VanEpps (F), Josh Coburn (G), Ryan Dollar (F)

GMSVS Storm – Evan Carey (F)

LaSalle Cadets – Sebastian Geiger (D)

Niskayuna/Schenectady/Albany Mohawks – Audrey Canty (D), Kevin Abatto (D), Yoni Eligberg (F)

Queensbury Spartans – Brendan Duffy (F), Jack Randall (F), Jimmy Fitzgerald (D), Tyler Vogel (D)

Saratoga Springs Blue Streaks – Brad Blake, Mike Montague (D), Riley Lefebvre (F), Will Detora (F)

Shenendehowa Plainsmen – Chris Lasher (D), Cole Haldane (F), Kent Leighton (G), Nate Novitsky (D)

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s