Tag: Jack Brundage

Joseph Girard III tops All-State basketball list in Class B

Glens Falls superstar Joseph Girard III was named the Class B Player of the Year when the New York State Sportswriters Association revealed its boys basketball all-state teams in Class B, Class C and Class D this week.

The Syracuse University-bound senior guard capped his record-breaking career by averaging 48.7 points per game and guiding the Indians to the state and Federation championships. Girard scored more than 4,000 points in his career, easily eclipsing the previous state record by more than 1,300 points.

Twenty-eight Section 2 players received All-State team honors. They are as follows:

Class B
Second team – Shane O’Dell (Schalmont)
10th team – Justice Brantley (Catskill)
12th team – Trent Girard (Glens Falls)
13th team – Messiah Mallory (Watervliet)
14th team – Jackson Atty (Fonda-Fultonville)
16th team – LJ Randle (Schalmont)

Honorable mention – Matthew Boyle (Johnstown), Nick Budesheim (Schuylerville) and Lavon Fernandez (Hudson)

Class C
First team – Mason Flatley (Lake George)
Second team – Chris Becker (Lake George)
Fifth team – Jon Kempf (Hoosick Falls)
Sixth team – Garrett Delaney (Mayfield)
Seventh team – Nate Mannion (Maple Hill)
Ninth team – Trevon Gifford (Mayfield)

Honorable mention – Danny McMahon (Hadley-Luzerne), Zeke Pulliam (Berne-Knox-Westerlo), Luke VanSlyke (Canajoharie). Tristan Williams (Hoosick Falls) and Jarrett Williams (Granville)

Class D
First team – Tyler Leon (OESJ)
Third team – Jack Brundage (OESJ)
Fourth team – Peyton Lufkin (Argyle)

Honorable mention – Bryan Bathrick (Germantown), Gavin Darfler (Hartford), Anthony Girard (North Warren), Luke Loso (Fort Ann) and Nate Reidell (Northville)

The Class AA and A all-state teams will be revealed next week.


Western Athletic Conference announces its boys soccer MVPs and all-star teams

The Western Athletic Conference announced its Division 1 and Division 2 most valuable players and all-star boys soccer teams Wednesday, Oct. 31.

Notre Dame-Bishop Gibbons senior Wil Lawson was named the Division 1 MVP, while Oppenheim-Ephretah-St. Johnsville’s Jack Brundage received the Division 2 MVP honor. Lawson led NDBG with 29 goals and 10 assists, while Brundage posted 32 goals and seven assists for OESJ.

Mayfield’s Evan Lehr was selected by the WAC coaches as the Division 1 Goalkeeper of the Year, while Berne-Knox-Westerlo/Duanesburg’s Tyler Goodemote was chosen as the Division 2 Goalie of the Year.

The WAC all-star teams are as follows: Continue reading “Western Athletic Conference announces its boys soccer MVPs and all-star teams”

Section 2 Class D playoffs: Top two seeds advance to semifinals

No. 1 Fort Ann and No. 2 Oppenheim-Ephretah-St. Johnsville each moved into the Section 2 Class D boys soccer semifinals following quarterfinal victories Thursday, Oct. 18.

Fort Ann (14-3-0) defeated No. 8 Argyle 4-0 at Queensbury High School. The game was scoreless until the second half, when Brendan Wright struck for three goals and assisted on Aidan Barnes’ tally for the Cardinals.

Goalkeeper Jared Montello had five saves for Argyle (6-10-0).

OESJ defeated No. 7 Loudonville Christian 2-0 to reach the semifinals. Jack Brundage had both goals for the Wolves (15-2-0). Josiah Westfall stopped 12 shots on goal for the Eagles (5-7-2).

The other two quarterfinals games take place Friday, Oct. 19, with No. 5 New Lebanon at No. 4 Hartford and No. 6 North Warren at No. 3 Bishop Maginn.

Western Athletic Conference boys soccer: OESJ overpowers Schoharie

Two players recorded hat tricks to lead Oppenheim-Ephretah-St. Johnsville (OESJ) to a 7-2 victory over Schoharie Monday, Oct. 1, in a Western Athletic Conference boys soccer game.

Jack Brundage and Chinnakrit Aroontheerapoj each struck for three goals to help the Wolves overpower the Indians. Mason Snell also tallied, and goalkeeper Adan Vasquez made five saves for OESJ.

Derek Dietz and Daniel Bernhardt tallied for Schoharie, and goalies Bailey Smart and Eddie Bond stopped a combined total of six shots.

Western Athletic Conference boys soccer: Schoharie defeats Notre Dame-Bishop Gibbons; OESJ blanks Canajoharie

Schoharie pulled away in the second half for a 6-2 victory over Notre Dame-Bishop Gibbons Monday, Sept. 24, in a Western Athletic Conference boys soccer game.

The game was clouded by a injury suffered by ND-BG goalkeeper Cole Nelson when he hit his head against the far post while stopping a Schoharie shot in the second half. The Indians struck for two insurance goals following Nelson’s injury to create their margin of victory. Continue reading “Western Athletic Conference boys soccer: Schoharie defeats Notre Dame-Bishop Gibbons; OESJ blanks Canajoharie”

Western Athletic Conference boys soccer: Four-goal outburst in the second half propels OESJ past Fonda-Fultonville

Oppenheim-Ephretah/St. Johnsville struck for four goals in the second half to defeat Fonda-Fultonville 6-1 Saturday, Sept. 22, in a Western Athletic Conference boys soccer game.

Jack Brundage had a hat trick and assisted on two other goals for OESJ (6-1 league, 8-1 overall). Mason Snell tallied twice, and Chinnakrit Aroontheerapoj added another.

Josh Coyne converted a penalty kick for Fonda-Fultonville’s lone goal. Mitch Araya had eight saves in goal for the Braves.

Western Athletic Conference boys soccer: OESJ storms past Canajoharie

ST. JOHNSVILLE – Six different players found the back of the net for Oppenheim-Ephretah-St. Johnsville in an 8-1 victory over Canajoharie Thursday, Aug. 30, in a Western Athletic Conference boys soccer game.

Jack Brundage recorded a hat trick and added a pair of assists for the Wolves (1-0), who led 5-0 at halftime. Zack Mosher, Andrew Snell, Tyler Leon, Jaedyn Logan Dillenbeck and Paetyn Logan Dillenbeck also tallied for OESJ, and Mason Snell added a pair of assists.

Alex Blanchard broke up OESJ’s shutout bid in the second half for Canajoharie. Cougars’ goalkeeper Jared Bentz stopped 12 shots.